“Learn To Be Quiet”

Standard

 

Here’s a short writing by Franz Kafka, who was primarily a novelist/short story writer. I feel so strongly about what he has to say here, I feel like we all just need to take the time each day, each HOUR of every day to stop for a moment and really think about what life is all about. This writing makes me do just that.

 

Franz Kafka #2

You need not do anything.

 

Remain sitting at your table and listen.

 

You need not even listen, just wait.

 

You need not even wait,

 

just learn to be quiet, still and solitary.

 

And the world will freely offer itself to you unmasked.

 

It has no choice, it will roll in ecstasy at your feet.

About AmbleDamsel

Truthfully, I’m writing this blog because I’m too much of a wimp to share my poems with most people I know. I’m hoping this blog will be a way to get honest feedback about them, without offending anyone. I generally prefer to write privately, and with pen and paper. There’s just something much more therapeutic & enjoyable about actually handwriting something–a better feeling than any lousy keyboard could ever give me! People who inspire me: John Lennon, Keri Smith, Sabrina Ward Harrison, Conor Oberst, Ethel Kennedy, Brooks Strause, Charles Bukowski, Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson, E.E. Cummings, Charles Dickens, Henry Darger, and Orly Avineri.

Comments are closed.