The Window

Standard
Deutsch: Jalouisie. English: Venitian blind. F...

Image via Wikipedia

This poem is how I start almost every morning. I wrote this one about a week ago. 

THE WINDOW
The alarm clock blares.

My eyes stare

at the ceiling,

HATING

the morning time.

I abusively fondle

the clock.

The alarm stops.

 

UPRIGHT

I bolt.

Slowly I turn,

glaring at the closed window blinds.

 

The day. Outside. Is it…

Sunny? I wonder.

Warm? Doubtful.

Chilly? Windy?

FREEZING? Most likely.

 

I slowly peek out

between the blinds,

too fearful to open them

ALL the way.

 

Snow? Nope.

WHEW!

My head tilts back

as I sigh in relief.

 

NOW the blinds can come open

All the way.

Start-of-Winter sun slips in;

A warm and golden light

Floods the room.

 

Tomorrow,

Mother Earth and I begin

AGAIN

The battle

That is

Every morning.

 

 

About AmbleDamsel

Truthfully, I’m writing this blog because I’m too much of a wimp to share my poems with most people I know. I’m hoping this blog will be a way to get honest feedback about them, without offending anyone. I generally prefer to write privately, and with pen and paper. There’s just something much more therapeutic & enjoyable about actually handwriting something–a better feeling than any lousy keyboard could ever give me! People who inspire me: John Lennon, Keri Smith, Sabrina Ward Harrison, Conor Oberst, Ethel Kennedy, Brooks Strause, Charles Bukowski, Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson, E.E. Cummings, Charles Dickens, Henry Darger, and Orly Avineri.