Perception Of Self

Standard

This poem I just wrote a few days ago. It’s quickly become one of my favorites. The words just oozed out of me so naturally for this one.

PERCEPTION OF SELF

The mirror.

It must be wrong.

Who is this girl?

Today

I like her.

Today

her eyes are bright

enough to burn your skull.

Today

her hair flows & glows

down her chest.

Today

blemishes are bygones.

Today

she smiles back at me;

Her eyes twinkle along.

Tomorrow

A MONSTER will reflect back.

Tomorrow

her eyes will be dim. DULL.

“Baby shit green,”

Mother has said of the shade.

Tomorrow

Her hideous hair will hit

her shoulders HORRENDOUSLY.

Tomorrow

the vivid zits will look

VOLCANIC.

Tomorrow

she will NOT smile.

Tomorrow

Self-esteem

will be too low to force

those FANGS out.

Tomorrow

she will STARE

back at me

and ask:

Who is this girl?

The mirror.

IT MUST BE WRONG.

About AmbleDamsel

Truthfully, I’m writing this blog because I’m too much of a wimp to share my poems with most people I know. I’m hoping this blog will be a way to get honest feedback about them, without offending anyone. I generally prefer to write privately, and with pen and paper. There’s just something much more therapeutic & enjoyable about actually handwriting something–a better feeling than any lousy keyboard could ever give me! People who inspire me: John Lennon, Keri Smith, Sabrina Ward Harrison, Conor Oberst, Ethel Kennedy, Brooks Strause, Charles Bukowski, Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson, E.E. Cummings, Charles Dickens, Henry Darger, and Orly Avineri.

3 responses