All You Need Is Love

Standard

This poem I wrote back in 2007, after seeing the movie Across the Universe.

ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE

Escape. Can I?

Try. Will I?

Who am I? Am I true to me?

Am I the things I hate?

Is the world so truly terrible?

Why must we search so hard for goodness?

Reliant on who? But only ourselves to trust.

Dog-eat-dog. Man-kill-man.

Is this who we are?

Where is my place?

This is what I love. This is what I hate.

Trials. Tests. Passing. Failing.

Loving ourselves. Hating ourselves.

Being TRUE to ourselves.

Do we know where we stand?

I believe deep down we do.

Only one way out. Take good care of you.

Find someone. Love them pure and deep.

All you need is love.

About AmbleDamsel

Truthfully, I’m writing this blog because I’m too much of a wimp to share my poems with most people I know. I’m hoping this blog will be a way to get honest feedback about them, without offending anyone. I generally prefer to write privately, and with pen and paper. There’s just something much more therapeutic & enjoyable about actually handwriting something–a better feeling than any lousy keyboard could ever give me! People who inspire me: John Lennon, Keri Smith, Sabrina Ward Harrison, Conor Oberst, Ethel Kennedy, Brooks Strause, Charles Bukowski, Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson, E.E. Cummings, Charles Dickens, Henry Darger, and Orly Avineri.

Comments are closed.